On being late to the party…

Every now and then a film/book/tv series is released and becomes THE thing to see. It takes over – all of your friends have seen it, it’s on all the social media sites and before you know it there are songs in the charts and merchandise everywhere.

I am one of those people that always misses them. Sometimes it’s because I tried it and I’m not keen (Game of Thrones springs to mind) and sometimes out of pure stubbornness. One of the stubborn moments occurred around the release of Disney’s Frozen. Very quickly it was everywhere, even at university, and I was told time and time again ‘You have to watch this movie’. The song was everywhere, there were quotes thrown around and people were giggling at the concept of Snowmen who wanted to see the summer.

meet_elsa_frozen_by_lin1130-d6d9mnu

Image by Lin1130

So I sat down one afternoon and I watched it. And I think I’ve grown up too much. Honestly, I hope to God that isn’t the case, but I just wasn’t carried away the way I used to be. Even my most recent Disney new movie, Tangled, had me laughing out loud and humming along with the songs. But Frozen just didn’t do that for me.

I seriously hope it was because the hype was so insane by that point that it couldn’t possibly live up to my expectations no matter how good it was. I hope that because I was alone and watching it on my uncomfortable chair on my teeny tiny laptop screen that the magic couldn’t get through. Because if it turns out I’m too old for Disney – despite all it’s faults – then I just don’t know if I can carry on. I mean, I want to be able to take my kids to see Disneys and I want to enjoy them with them.

For the sake of my sanity, this is one I will watch again despite my initial misgivings. I could see the possibilities of the humour it just didn’t quite get through. Perhaps, with a helping hand from a friend or two, I might just be able to let the humour in and hopefully enjoy the music enough to hum along here and there.

I live in eternal hope. I’m not old enough to grow up yet.

Leave a Reply

