Off to Camp I go

Those who have been following this blog will remember back in November I participated in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) and managed to write 30,000 words of a novel in just a month. While this was technically a failure by their standards (you’re supposed to hit 50k) I was pretty chuffed to get that much down in such a short space of time. I haven’t looked at it since, being too occupied with uni work and the novel I’m writing for one of my modules to even think about editing.

2014-Participant-Facebook-Cover

I am, however, desperate to finish both of these novels. I love the story for both of them and have had many people interested in the concept of both of them, saying they would love to read them when they are written. So, despite the dissertation (and the other 12,000 words of other assignments) I have signed myself up to Camp NaNoWriMo. Basically, it’s the same as November, with a few minor changes. Most importantly for me this time, you can choose your own word count. So I can choose an achievable amount of words each day and still be able to focus on my uni work… in theory!

Now this could go terrible wrong in a number of ways. I might not write a single word for my novel. I might write plenty for my novel and nothing at all for uni. But I won’t know until I try, and there’s absolutely nothing to lose. Just the thought of a daily word goal that everyone can check up on spurs me on a little. I just keep thinking about how good I’ll feel when I get to the end of April and my first draft is finished! 30k will get me to the end (hopefully) which means the summer months can be spent editing and then (fear! Terror! Panic!) sending enquiries to agents and editors.

So I’m sure you’ll hear all about it through the month. Or you may hear nothing at all from me until the beginning of May. Just don’t worry if you don’t see anything from me for a while.

Also, if you fancy giving it a go, Camp NaNoWriMo gives you the chance not only to choose your word goal but also your project. It’s not just about novels. You can write a play, some poetry, a collection of short stories. Anything you like, from 10,000 to 100,000 words if you so desire. It’s completely free to sign up, and there’s a whole eight days until you need an idea. So go on, I dare you – come to camp with me.

 

Leave a Reply

