IBiS Lit Badges

What on earth, I hear you say. What is an IBiS Lit Badge and how do I get one? Well let me explain.

IBiS is a fabulous blog written by associate literary agent Maria Vicente. I discovered this in the early days of January when I was trawling the internet looking at new years resolution ideas. This is my favourite and is something I am very very slowly working my way through. The idea of the Lit badges is to get you to read a variety of things you wouldn’t normally choose, to broaden your literary horizons as it were. There are 24 badges to aim for and you have the whole year to get through them. That’s only 2 a month which I think is more than achievable. So which have I got so far?

Biography

Well, working backwards, I recently purchased and started reading Maya Angelou’s I Know Why the Caged Bird SingsAs a fan of her work anyway I thought it would be an interesting read. I’m only a chapter in, but already the language and the emotion behind it all is incredibly powerful. I’m looking forward to continuing with it.

i-know-why-the-caged-bird-sings

 

TV Series

In the past I had heard wonderful things about V, a sci-fi series from the 80s about giant lizard aliens living on earth in human ‘suits’. So one day while killing time on my Lovefilm account I decided to try out the remake version, originally aired in 2009. And I really enjoyed it. I’m not one for series usually – I forget about them then forget to catch up and before I know I’m 8 or 9 episodes behind. But this one I devoured in a couple of weeks. I’m about to start the second series but I’m pretty sure I’ll be disappointed as it was cancelled after the second series so there are going to be some unconcluded storylines somewhere in there, and for me there’s nothing more annoying.

V_We_Are_Of_Peace_by_Toxic_Sway

 

Original screenplay

Again on a bored Sunday afternoon I was looking through some of the smaller movies on Lovefilm – I didn’t want a big blockbuster. I just wanted something understated that would make me think. Which is exactly what Smashed made me do. With a blurb that simply says ‘A married couple whose bond is built on a mutual love of alcohol gets their relationship put to the test when the wife decides to get sober’ it was heartbreaking, sickening and inspiring all at once. I don’t know if enjoyed is a word you can use when describing a film about a woman who pretends to be pregnant to explain vomiting in front of her class of 8 year old students, but it certainly made an impact on me.

smashed

 

So that’s three down in one month, which I’m pretty proud of. I recommend all of the things mentioned above and would suggest anyone who wants to broaden their literature tastes take part in this challenge as well.

Leave a Reply

