Final term, final year…

It all ends here. On Monday I start my final term of my final year at university. And I am so ready for it to end. I have had the most wonderful three years at UWE. I can’t begin to list the countless things I have gained from this course. I’ve found great friends, a wonderful boyfriend, discovered what I really want to do with my life, found out I’m actually pretty good at it, and met some wonderful lecturers who I hope I will stay in contact with for many years to come.

The magic has gone for me now though. I am studying some very interesting modules this year and my dissertation is on a pretty cool topic (looking at political protect in the 2012 Olympic opening ceremony) but I’m struggling to really get motivated. At the moments my eyes are truly on the future and on being an adult again. I can’t wait to get back out into the world and implement all the things I’ve learnt here at this wonderful institution.

I’m also glad to be leaving this year for a much sadder reason. UWE have sold off the St. Matthias campus upon which I study as they want to centralise all students onto the Frenchay campus in the future. To give you an idea of what we’re losing, here’s a snap of my campus.

2013-11-13 07.42.30-2

Known, quite appropriately, as the Harry Potter campus, St Matts is the home of the humanities and drama students, as well as a few film students. They have been slowing down the student intake here for a few years but have officially announced that any students still on campus will move in September. It’s a great loss to the university – many of us chose UWE on the beauty of where we would be spending out days – and the end of a wonderful community.

As if he knew what was coming, our beautiful (if somewhat unsociable and grumpy) campus cat, Boris, passed away over the Christmas break. So legendary he has his own Facebook page it was with a heavy heart we learned of his passing. He was an old man, and fell ill over the holidays so had to be put to sleep. In a way, it was the best for him. I don’t know how he would have coped without his hundreds of admirers fawning over him twenty times a day.

Boris LeChat

So it is a heavy yet relieved heart I will be leaving St Matts and all its wonders. I still have some time yet, my last deadline isn’t until May 6th and  graduation will be at the end of July, but I can’t wait to leave and start on the next exciting part of my life.

To be continued…

2 thoughts on “Final term, final year…

  1. I felt exactly the same this time last year! It only took about two months for me to realise I actually really like uni and start applying for Masters, which by the end of my dissertation I had decided not to do! Third year really is balls. xx

  2. If I can add I am the father of Tosh, and played many happy seasons at the college of St Matthias in the Bristol Sunday league!! Indeed a sad day that some of the buildings will no longer be used for students such as my wonderful daughter. I would like to wish everyone that leaves this year every success and good health for the future!!

Leave a Reply

