Why ‘The Amazing Spiderman’ kicks ass

Christmas is a time for relaxing, watching lots of movies and tv and eating as much junk food as you can mange without exploding. For once, I’ve been managing to do just that. Granted I have been writing and doing uni work at the same time but I’ve managed to relax more than I usually do. So far today I’ve watched ‘Stardust’ (always makes me feel Christmasy, don’t know why) and ‘The Amazing Spiderman’. Which I have decided is one of the best superhero movies made recently. Why, I hear you ask. One reason.

Gwen Stacey.

Emma Stone as Gwen Stacey

For those of you who haven’t seen it, Gwen Stacey (played by the beautiful Emma Stone) is the young Peter Parker’s high school love interest. She’s a beautiful, intelligent, strong young woman who knows what she wants and works hard to get it. She doesn’t fit into any of the usual high school cliques – she’s too smart to be beautiful, too cool to be a nerd. She doesn’t take any crap from anyone, including the school bully, Spiderman or her Police Captain father.

And the best thing about her – not once is she the damsel in distress. In fact, she goes a long way towards saving the day. When Spidey calls her to tell her to get to safety because there’a a big old lizard man coming at her, does she flee? Hell no! She stays in the danger spot, evacuates the building and stays there until the antidote is made. She’d even be climbing the building if she didn’t bump into her dad and get sent away.

This has only actually occurred to me while I watched the movie today. I was waiting for the moment Spiderman swooped in to save her from the bad guy and it just didn’t happen. And the longer I waited the happier I felt until I was actually beaming in my seat.

So to whoever made that decision – Stan Lee, Alvin Sargent, those great Marvel gods in the sky – I say thank you. Thank you for giving us a strong female character who doesn’t always need to be saved, who is smart and sassy and can hold her own. You did good marvel.

The Amazing Spiderman 2 is due for release in UK cinemas in April 2014

One thought on “Why ‘The Amazing Spiderman’ kicks ass

  1. Pingback: Spiderman Plays Basketball Part 2... Amazing Spiderman | Get Real BasketballGet Real Basketball

Leave a Reply

