The Power of Music

University is hard! Everyone told me. They warned me that third year steps up a notch and you won’t realise it until you get there. I took it all with a grateful smile and a roll of the eyes.

I’m sorry.

You all tried to warn me.  You tried to tell me to prepare, to plan ahead and focus on it one day at a time.  Well, I’m not. Not even a little bit. I am panicking and taking on too many things and worrying and making myself severely stressed out.  Tonight was just an awful example.

I got home and my light bulb had gone.  I had to walk down the road to pick up my lamp from a friend’s house – who was his usual charming self and made me smile a little.  I got home, plugged in said lamp and sat down to work.  Then the internet crashed.  That was all I needed.

Now I know these sound like silly, trivial moments – and they are – but you’ve all been there.  You’ve not been in the best of moods for whatever reason, then one tiny thing goes wrong and it tips you over the edge into completely unreasonable. you know you’re being mad or crazy but it doesn’t matter, you’re in a bad mood now and there ain’t nothing gonna make you feel better… Or is there?

Lullabye (Goodnight, My Angel)

Lullabye (Goodnight, My Angel) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Tonight I gave up and put Spotify on.  I went to my favourites playlist and hit the random button.  And I kid you not, within the first five seconds I felt the tension slip away.  Music for me has a magical power and instantly makes me relax.  After singing along to a few tracks I felt like a different person and couldn’t believe the transformation in myself!

There are a few songs that never fail to bring a smile to myself, for various reasons.  Extreme’s More Than Words (say nothing!) brings back memories of my teenage years, listening to cheesy love songs and writing angsty poetry. The Longest Time by Billy Joel epitomises the road trip last summer with the Bearded One. And anything by Bob Marley recalls my best friend and her beautiful wedding. These songs are dripping with great times and, as well as being super fun to blare out loud, bring all that positivity to the top and make it impossible to stay blue.

Uprising (Bob Marley & The Wailers album)

Uprising (Bob Marley & The Wailers album) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So this is my advice to you.  I don’t often do this, but it is something I feel very strongly about!  Next time you’re mad, or sad, or hormonal, or missing your mum – anything really – get that magic song out and play it loud.  You might choose one of my favourites, or it might be something completely different and random.  As long as it cheers you and brings the smile back to your face, play it as loud as you can for as long as you can.

What is your magic song?  The one that perks you up every time.  Share your songs below so I can add some more to my epic playlist.

Leave a Reply

