NaNoWriMo so far…

So this year I decided to take part in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) which takes place every year during the month of November.  The goal is to write 50,000 words in 30 days by hitting daily targets.  It breaks it down into pretty manageable chunks of about 1,600 words a day so that by the end of the month you have yourself a brand new novel (or more like a novella but still, a full length story).  Of course I don’t have enough going on at the moment, with university, work, blogging, volunteering and article writing so it seemed like a good idea.  What have I let myself into!

Image

The idea I’m working with is one that has been with me for some months now.  I’ve been gradually building up the storyline in my mind so that when I decided to do NaNo, around the beginning of October, I was pretty confident I had a story I could work with.  I jotted down the key plot points and decided to leave the rest to chance.  During NaNo you are either known as a planner or a pantser – I think I slotted nicely into the middle this time.

Day one went perfectly.  I set myself up in the library, opened my notepad and out flowed 1,700 words of story.  I won’t say it was anywhere near perfect, but the point of this month is getting the words onto the paper – editing is for December.  I was happy and content having got it done before midday as well.  So I carried on with my uni work and felt secretly a little but smug.

Day two was just as satisfying.  I went to my volunteering job, headed straight to library and belted out another 1,100 words.  I wasn’t quite on par,  but I figured I had nothing planned for Sunday so would make up the extra 500 words as well as smash my day three target, right?  Oh how wrong I was!

Day three was, as far as I am concerned, a complete fail.  I managed only a measley 500 words, only just taking me to day two’s target.  So here I now am, Monday being four days in, and I’m a full 2,500 words behind.  The guys on the forums and facebook page are being as encouraging as possible, but I so wanted to do well in this.  I have decided this must be my first task of every day (after work that is, which I am finished at by 8am) so that it is out of the way and if it does go badly first time I have plenty more time in the day to sit down for another session.

I’ll keep you all updated as to how the rest of the week goes, but fingers crossed it gets better from here on in.  It can’t get much worse!

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo so far…

  1. Good luck! I know it CAN get better. NaNo is always a total rollercoaster for me. My worst enemy is myself thinking “Oh god, this day went so badly….. just gonna give up and crawl back into my cave…..”

    As long as I can shut out that voice, I can hang on until another good day comes around!

    • Thankfully today is going much better so I’m hoping to be back on track by the middle of the week. Writing lots of snapshots at the moment just to get things moving.

  2. Pingback: Metaphorplay | How much is too much?

Leave a Reply

