Terrible…just…terrible…

That’s exactly what I am.  A terrible, terrible blogger.  I have a whole summer with nothing to do but write and read and read and write and what have I done?  Neither!  Well over a month since university finished and I have completed neither a book nor a play nor even a poem I am completely happy with.  I have used every single excuse you can imagine – I’m relaxing, I’ve read a lot this year and need a break, I’ve got lots of shifts at work this week.  If I were to be completely honest with you all though, I’ve just been plain lazy.  I haven’t even been playing on the computer or anything slightly constructive   I’ve just been sitting on the couch watching episode after episode of American sitcoms (courtesy of E4, that channel is never switched off in our house!).  It’s got the point where it hurts to handwrite even half an A4 page!

This is the point where I know I have been a bad writer and need to chastise myself.  Even my boyfriend, The Bearded One, is telling me off for failing.  So I am going to persevere (once again) to be better.  With him breathing down my back I should, hopefully, get more writing done.  I’m refusing to lose faith in myself – I know I can be a writer, I just need to learn the discipline of writing every day and making it part of my daily routine so it stops feeling like I’m taking time out to do it.

So tomorrow begins challenge two in my For 30 I Will… blog, of which the first challenge failed after only a week… But this next challenge is a writing related one so I cross everything that I will manage it to the end.  Wish me luck fellow bloggers!

Leave a Reply

