Writing prompts

Everyone who writes has been there – you get so bogged down with life your brain turns to mush and you just can’t think of anything to write about, let alone anything interesting!  You write a paragraph or so and it goes nowhere.  It frustrates you, so you don’t bother and before you know it weeks have passed since you’ve put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard or however you work).

I’m exactly the same.  I can be more than useless.  Since I’ve started university, taking away what I’ve written for assignments, I have been a truly awful writer.  Until I got sick of it and did the old google trick – short story ideas.  It gave me this website.

This is by far one of the best websites I have found for writing prompts.  There are starting points like you wouldn’t believe – titles, characters, scenarios, images.  No matter what works for you there is an option for it on the site.  With my first prompt (a title – The Taste of Loneliness) I scribbled several pages and finished my first short story in months.  No it wasn’t very good and even with editing probably won’t go anywhere, but it made me write and that’s the important part.  So if you’re stuck, head over there and explore.  Who knows what you may come up with!

3 thoughts on “Writing prompts

  1. Pingback: I Write…. | Chris Keys

  2. Pingback: Write Tribe Prompt #1

  3. Pingback: The Full Truth of the Matter | On My Mind

Leave a Reply

